What’s New? || Geek News

Once again it’s Sunday and the final news round-up of the week but I have some absolute gems for you this morning.

Deadpool Is #TeamCap

So Chris Evans saw Deadpool last night and like any rational-minded human being he loved it. He loved it so much that it led to this Twitter exchange that absolutely made my day. rdj rr ce twitter

Emily Blunt In Talks To Play Mary Poppins

Disney is making a sequel to Mary Poppins and they have made it no secret who they want to play the titular role. Emily Blunt is currently in talks to play the magical, singing nanny and I will say that if it can’t be Julie Andrews then Emily Blunt does have a similar quality about her that I believe would make her great for this role. The film is to be set 20 years after the original but still follow the adventures of the Banks family.

New Pete’s Dragon Poster

Pete's DragonIn other Disney news, the studio have released the first motion poster for their upcoming release, Pete’s Dragon. The remake of the 1977 film of the same name is coming out this Summer and whilst I’ve never seen the original I am looking forward to this one – even with their worst films Disney is never really a disappointment and from what I’ve seen so far, this looks like it’s going to pretty good. Also, the first official trailer comes out later today so keep an eye out.

Deadpool vs. Gambit

What? The Gambit movie’s finally happening? And he’s teaming up with Deadpool??? As amazing as that would be – no. What is happening, however, is a comic-book mini-series. There will be five issues – debuting in June – and if you’re not into comics but got excited by that headline then give it a go. The great thing about a mini-series is the minimal commitment involved.

First Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Season 2 Trailer

I adore this Netflix original – Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt will be back again on April 15 and I can’t wait for the singular day of joy that it will bring me as I binge-watch it. I don’t know much about the new season: the main cast are all returning but as far as the plot goes that is a mystery to me, although it has already been renewed for a third season.

Well guys, that’s it for this week. Of course I’ll be here again on Tuesday with more geekly news but until next week:

Team Cap, Team Iron Man or Team Hello Kitty? Have you watched the original Pete’s Dragon? What’s your favourite Netflix series coming back this year? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “What’s New? || Geek News

  1. Team Cap all the way! It’s been years since I’ve seen the original Pete’s Dragon. I can only hope the reimagined version of it does it justice. Which I’m sure it will since Cinderella is such a beautiful film! And as of right now, I don’t have a favourite Netflix series….although I am immensely looking forward to the return of Daredevil!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

