What’s New? || Geek News

Merry Tuesday everybody, as a UK resident who watched the Oscars ceremony live I’m still exhausted but the ceremony was amazing. By now I’m sure you already know who won and who lost so I won’t bore you by repeating all of that. Instead, let’s take a look at some of the other things that happened in the last few days.

Fox Announces Two More Marvel Films

After the success of Deadpool it makes sense that Fox would want to get as many Marvel films out as possible. Whilst they haven’t released the names of the projects, Fox have confirmed that they will be releasing two Marvel properties on October 6th 2017 and January 12th 2018. I’m assuming that one of them is the perpetually-delayed Gambit film and the other one may be that Deadpool sequel we’ve been hearing so much about.

New Orange Is The New Black Teaser

Season 4 of Orange Is The New Black will be available on Netflix from June 17 which feels like forever but they’ve released another teaser to keep us excited. I have to say that this one didn’t really hit me like they usually do but that could be the sleep deprivation talking. Check it out yourself:

Pixar Have Won Their 16th Academy Award

I know, I know, I said no Oscar talk but you have to let me congratulate Pixar who, with Inside Out winning the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature, have now received a total of 16 Academy Awards – 8 for Best Animated Feature. I love Pixar and I loved Inside Out: with the exception of Leonardo DiCaprio finally winning Best Actor, this is the award that I was most happy about.

New Batman v Superman Clip

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice arrives at our cinema screens this month and on the Jimmy Kimmel show they premiered a new clip. I have to say, when I first heard the title of this film I was like, “well, that’ll be a short movie”. Superman is clearly going to beat Batman in a fight, or is he? This clip is the first footage we’ve seen of the two actually going head to head against one another and the Dark Knight seems to have some tricks up his sleeve.

That’s all for today, but of course you can come back tomorrow for a feature piece or maybe just wait until Thursday for another Geek News. Until whenever:

Did you have a favourite Oscar moment? Are you still interested in a Gambit movie? Is OITNB losing quality in these later seasons? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

