Captain America: Civil War – Review

For so long it felt like a distant dream but it’s real and it’s now out in UK cinemas. Captain America: Civil War is the best Marvel movie to date and has raised the bar for any superhero team-up that follows it.

Arriving on theatre screens only a month after Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, it’s impossible to not draw comparisons but I’ll make it brief. In my review of Batman v Superman I talked about how it was insanely ambitious but didn’t quite come together: well, Captain America: Civil War comes together.

The story is beautifully written and it’s Marvel, so of course there are plenty of funny bits but they also explore some deep, and at times painful, themes. There is a clear focus throughout the film and whilst there are plenty of different angles, they are unified by one simple story.

The pacing which has been an issue in other team-up films like The Avengers was flawless this time around. At no point in the 2hr 27min running time was I bored and once the credits began to roll all I could think about was when I was next going to see it.

The huge ensemble cast which led people to refer to the film as ‘Avengers 2.5’ worked well in conjunction with each other. Nobody got lost in the crowd or over-shadowed: this is definitely a Captain America film but equally, all of the other characters get their spotlight and they’re important for the progression of the story.

I could pick any member of the cast and tell you something great that they were involved in but my favourite of all was Tom Holland’s Spider-Man who made an amazing entrance into the MCU. We’re spoiler-free at the moment so I can’t say too much but make sure you keep an eye for him.

I can’t praise this film enough – the only thing that felt slightly uncomfortable was Martin Freeman’s American accent. It wasn’t bad, just strange and I found myself listening very carefully every time he opened his mouth.

Have you seen Captain America: Civil War yet? What did you think? How do you feel about the new Spider-Man? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Captain America: Civil War – Review

Leave a Reply

