The Hardest Category || Emmy Season

As much as I love the Emmys there is no way that I can have watched all of the shows that are nominated by the time the award ceremony rolls around. Would I like to? Definitely. Is it physically possible? Probably. If I do it will I flunk out of university, lose my job, and generally destroy my entire life? …I don’t think I like this line of questioning anymore.

Anyway, I do actually have a point here. I can’t watch all of the nominated shows so when it comes to choosing a favourite it’s normally easy because I’ve only seen one or two of the nominated acts. That hasn’t changed this year but there is one category that stands out to me: Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series.

The nominees this year are:

  • Claire Danes (Homeland)
  • Viola Davis (How to Get Away with Murder)
  • Taraji P. Henson (Empire)
  • Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black)
  • Keri Russell (The Americans)
  • Robin Wright (House of Cards)

Like… damn. As usual, I haven’t seen every show but of the three that I have there’s just so much talent and I don’t know who I want to win.

Surprisingly, I watch a lot of TV (I know, who would have though it?) but How to Get Away with MurderEmpire, and Orphan Black are three of my favourite shows that are currently on air. Even more frustratingly, the actresses nominated are, to me, the best things about their respective shows.

It feels almost impossible to place one above the other – I genuinely can’t think of any faults that I can pin against them (I hope you are now understanding exactly how biased I am in all matters). Instead I’m going down the positive route and talking about why I think each of them should win, so here we go:

Image result for viola davisViola Davis:

  • She is class personified.
  • Her character is simultaneously terrifying and aspirational.
  • Natural black hair on television is revolutionary.

Taraji P. Henson:

  • Image result for taraji p hensonSeriously. Who doesn’t love Cookie?
  • Cookie Lyon is fearless and that in and of itself is inspiring.
  • In such a specific story, she manages to transcend those limitations and creates a universal character.

Image result for tatiana maslanyTatiana Maslany:

  • She plays so many characters – so many.
  • She manages to portray multiple characters in the same scene and you forget that they’re all her.
  • Orphan Black only has one more season: she needs an Emmy for this role.

Who do you think should win? What reasons (there are plenty) did I miss out? Are you rooting for one of the other women? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

