Why I’m Not Reviewing TV

The fall television season begins this week and I can’t wait. There are so many shows that I love that are coming back on which would normally mean that I had a crazy upload schedule because of the tons of reviews that I would be writing. It feels strange not to be in that position but it’s also a relief.

I was writing four television reviews a week last season and that was… an experience. There are a lot of reasons why I’m not going to be doing that anymore and I feel like it’s only right to explain them.

Firstly, as I’m sure you’ve guessed, it’s exhausting. I live in England so in order to get reviews out whilst they were still relevant I would have to get up by 5:30 in the morning and as soon as I had watched the episode and written the review I would have to rush to get ready for university (damn those 8:30 lectures). It meant that I was always in a hurry so I was never fully satisfied with the quality of what I was writing and I didn’t get to enjoy the show – which is the whole reason I was reviewing in the first place.

Over the summer I wrote about the changing direction of this site and how I was going to stop giving myself impossible schedules. I love movies and shows: that’s what this is about, so if I’m writing something, it has to be because I’m enjoying it and I want to write about it, not just because I feel as though I have to.

There are some weeks when I just don’t have any strong opinions on what I’ve watched (that’s a rarity, but it happens) so when I sit down to write about it, I’m essentially making up reactions to try and reach some arbitrary minimum word count.

Another large reason why I won’t be doing episode reviews this season is because it occurred to me that reviewing any show episode by episode is a completely unfair way to judge television. Reviewing single episodes is a bit like watching a random 45 minutes of a movie and judging it solely on that. TV shows are designed to span several weeks or months and the season is the complete package.

With that said, I am entirely open to reviewing seasons (there will almost certainly be a Luke Cage review up next weekend), in fact I much prefer it.

That doesn’t mean that there won’t be plenty of content on here over the next few months. Just because I’m not discussing every single episode of all the shows that I watch doesn’t mean I won’t be talking about television. I don’t think I could manage that if I tried.

One thought on “Why I’m Not Reviewing TV

Leave a Reply

