Coming Through the Rye || Trailer Review

I didn’t know which trailer I was going to talk about today: so many great ones were dropped last week. There was new Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, a Doctor Strange trailer, Fences blew me away, and The Space Between Us seems like it’s going to be a very special film. It was almost impossible to choose but then this trailer was released on Saturday.

Coming Through the Rye tells the story of a boy who wants to adapt the book The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger into a play. I had heard about the Nicholas Hoult biopic film (Rebel in the Rye) about Salinger’s life but this one had completely flown under my radar until this trailer.

I think that The Catcher in the Rye is the sort of book that either resonates with you or doesn’t. When I read it, it was everything to me: this book was validating everything that I felt at the time. I understood Holden Caulfield and he understood me.

With that said, this trailer has that same essence about it as the book. Obviously I can relate to the main character and I already believe that Alex Wolff is an amazing actor who is truly perfect for this role.

Yes, it’s a coming-of-age story with a boy and a girl and a journey but it just feels fresh. It feels light and at a time where there are so many massive, tent-pole movies (that I still do like), it feels personal.

What did you think of the trailer? Have you read The Catcher in the Rye? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

