A Week Of Previews || Trailer Review

Last week was an explosion of new trailers and it was impossible to choose just one to talk about today. Truly, I tried but I was starting to get a migraine. Instead, we’re just going to look at all of them – maybe you saw all of them, maybe you didn’t, but every single one of these is worth re-watching.

xXx: The Return of Xander Cage

I’ve never been a fan of the xXx franchise – mainly because it’s ridiculous – but something about this trailer was just the perfect amount of ridiculous. The stunts are insane, the lines are cheesy but this movie seems to embrace what it is and I can only celebrate that.

Wonder Woman

I feel like I’ve been waiting my entire life for this trailer. This is it: my last little bit of hope that the DCEU can become something great and it came at the perfect time after more terrible news with The Flash movie. It looks beautiful and dramatic. I wasn’t the biggest supporter of Gal Gadot’s casting but after Batman v Superman and seeing her here, I take it all back: she’s fantastic.

La La Land

I’m going to love any film with Emma Stone. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling? Even better. This is a new musical and that’s such a rare thing for cinema, it’s already being called an Oscar contender. Damien Chazelle is the same man that brought us Whiplash and it looks like he’s just going to keep making world-class films.

T2: Trainspotting 2

I never saw Trainspotting but there’s no getting past the fact that it was a huge movie. The trailer for the sequel is a huge trip (and possibly one of the best anti-drug videos I have ever watched). I love how stylistic it is and I will certainly be watching the first film in the near future so I can head out to the cinema and see this one.

The Lego Batman Movie

Finally, The Lego Batman Movie. Could this be the best Batman movie ever made? I think it’s a contender. This film takes all of the jokes that people make about Batman and it’s very self-aware. Plus, there’s Robin – it’s been too long since we had Robin on screen. I love The Lego Movie and I know that I’m going to love this.

Were there trailers that came out last week that you think I should have included? Which of these films are you most excited for? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

